Tomasz Stanko: Lontano I


Lontano I


Tomasz Stanko (trumpet)


Lontano (ECM 1980 B0007152-02)

Buy Track


Tomasz Stanko (trumpet), Marcin Wasilewski (piano), Slawomir Kurkiewicz (bass), Michal Miskiewicz (drums).

Recorded: Studios La Buissonne, Perne-les-Fontaines, France, November 2005


Rating: 87/100 (learn more)

Stanko’s quartet shows its mastery of tone colors and sound textures in this 13-minute collective improvisation from the 2006 ECM release Lontano. The piece starts in a free tempo, rich in nuance and indirection, and only at the end coalesces into strict time. For comparison, the CD release also includes the 15-minute “Lontano II” and the 12-minute “Lontano III” – each providing eloquent testimony to the rapport of this outstanding ensemble.

Reviewer: Ted Gioia

Tags: · ·

Comments are closed.