Sonny Rollins: Old Devil Moon


Old Devil Moon


Sonny Rollins (tenor sax)


A Night at the Village Vanguard, Volume 1 (Blue Note 99795)

Buy Track


Sonny Rollins (tenor sax), Wilbur Ware (bass), Elvin Jones (drums).

Composed by Burton Lane and Yip Harburg


Recorded: Village Vanguard, New York City, November 3, 1957


Rating: 93/100 (learn more)

No better place to start than at the beginning. This landmark Blue Note session was the first record released from the Vanguard. Originally issued in two separate volumes comprised of the afternoon and evening sets on November 3, 1957, the complete collection has since been remastered and re-released (with additional tracks). Musically, this set the standard for the piano-less trio – Rollins is accompanied by just a bassist and drummer. This musical freedom allows Rollins to showcase his masterful rhythmic reconfiguration of the “Old Devil Moon” melody throughout his improvisation.

Reviewer: Eric Novod

Tags: · ·

Comments are closed.