Chris McGregor: MRA




Chris McGregor’s Brotherhood of Breath


Chris McGregor’s Brotherhood of Breath (Repertoire REP 44-68 WP)

Buy Track


Chris McGregor (piano), Malcolm Griffiths (trombone), Nick Evans (trombone), Mongezi Feza (trumpet), Harry Beckett (trumpet), Mark Charig (cornet), Dudu Pukwana (alto sax), Mike Osborne (alto sax), Ronnie Beer (tenor sax), Alan Skidmore (tenor sax, soprano sax), John Surman (baritone sax, soprano sax), Harry Miller (bass), Louis Moholo (drums).

Composed by Dudu Pukwana


Recorded: London, 1971


Rating: 90/100 (learn more)

In the early '70s, Chris McGregor and the members of his Blue Notes – who had fled the apartheid regime of their native South Africa, where a racially mixed band was unwelcome – had settled in London. That’s where the pianist recruited some of the best local musicians to bring his sextet to the size of a big band. This track is not only typical of the African side of the Brotherhood of Breath, it’s also a great arrangement where each section enters after another in turn, and comes back again to build a gorgeous tapestry of melodic and rhythmic layers. So much so that nobody ever has the idea to even take the slightest solo. Collective work at its best!

Reviewer: Thierry Quénum

Tags: · · · ·

Comments are closed.