John McLaughlin: Afro Blue


Afro Blue


John McLaughlin (electric guitar)


John McLaughlin After The Rain (Verve 527 467-2)

Buy Track


John McLaughlin (electric guitar), Joey DeFrancesco (organ), Elvin Jones (drums).

Composed by Mongo Santamaria


Recorded: New York, 1994


Rating: 99/100 (learn more)

McLaughlin's energetic version of Mongo Santamaria's "Afro Blue" from After the Rain is a fully realized treatment of the tune most often associated with John Coltrane. McLaughlin, organist Joey DeFrancesco and Coltrane alumnus Elvin Jones on drums drive the tune as if it were one of those monster trucks going down a steep hill in Baja. McLaughlin mutes his chorused guitar sound a bit, which may be a detriment. But if you pay attention, his swinging line-playing evokes Coltrane's sax forays.

Reviewer: Walter Kolosky

Tags: · · ·

Comments are closed.