Quincy Jones: Soul Bossa Nova


Soul Bossa Nova


Quincy Jones Big Band


Big Band Bossa Nova (Mercury MG 20751)

Buy Track


Quincy Jones (leader), Rahsaan Roland Kirk (flute), Jerome Richardson (flute, alto flute), Jerome Richardson (flute, alto flute),

Lalo Schifrin (piano), Chris White (bass), Rudy Collins (drums), Carlos Gomez, Jose Paula, Jack Del Rio (percussion), unidentified brass


Composed by Quincy Jones


Recorded: New York, September 13, 1962


Rating: 85/100 (learn more)

Surprise! The opening theme song to the Austin Powers trilogy wasn't composed specifically for everybody's favorite hairy-chested, mojo-laden international man of mystery. It was actually a Quincy Jones Big Band tune recorded in 1962 and featuring the flutes of Roland Kirk and Jerome Richardson on the now instantly recognizable 5-note theme. Allow this track to serve as a gateway to some of Jones's seriously stylish big band music from the 1960s. Check out "Se E Tarde Me Pardoa" from the Big Band Bossa Nova album and "Days of Wine and Roses," "Dreamsville" and "Moon River" from Quincy Jones Explores the Music of Henry Mancini for more of the Jones Big Band featuring Roland Kirk.

Reviewer: Eric Novod

Tags: · · ·

Comments are closed.