Modern Jazz Quartet with Laurindo Almeida: Silver




Modern Jazz Quartet


Collaboration (Collectables 6911)

Buy Track


John Lewis (piano), Milt Jackson (vibes), Percy Heath (bass), Connie Kay (drums), Laurindo Almeida (guitar).

Composed by John Lewis


Recorded: New York, July 21, 1964


Rating: 98/100 (learn more)

Four intense mood swings in the first minute and an untraditional song structure make this track inaccessible to most. That is common when assessing John Lewis's body of work; his classical music roots firmly place his musical ambitions outside the mainstream. Lewis's ideas require significant digestion, especially for the untrained ear. Luckily, his compatriots on this recording are able to keep up with the constant shifts and surprises. While "Silver"'s dynamics are golden, Lewis's and Jackson's respective solos on piano and vibes pave the path for such jazz descendants as Stefon Harris and Jacky Terrasson. Definitely recommended.

Reviewer: Marcus Singletary

Tags: ·

Comments are closed.