Steven Bernstein's Millennial Territory Orchestra: We Are MTO


We Are MTO


Steven Bernstein's Millennial Territory Orchestra


We Are MTO (MOWO 3204)

Buy Track


Steven Bernstein (trumpet, slide trumpet),

Clark Gayton (trombone), Doug Wieselman (clarinet, tenor sax), Peter Apfelbaum (tenor and soprano saxes), Erik Lawrence (baritone and soprano saxes), Matt Munisteri (guitar, vocals), Charlie Burnham (violin), Ben Allison (bass), Ben Perowsky (drums)


Composed by Steven Bernstein


Recorded: Brooklyn, NY, May 23-24, 2005


Rating: 90/100 (learn more)

Unless you're cursed with an unusual amount of the "uptight gene," it's hard not to like a blues that has some slink to it. This track funks along from the start with the bass/drums lope of Ben Allison and Ben Perowsky. Charlie Burnham's very earthy violin sets the stage for the entry of the horns and boy, are they ready. Part downhome New Orleans, part New York attitude, this band is relaxed and loose. Check out the partial slide into chaos near the end when the violin switches to pizzicato and spiky notes come in from all directions and yet the vibe never loses steam. Phew! I gotta towel off.

Reviewer: Mark Saleski

Tags: ·

Comments are closed.