John Escreet: The Suite of Consequence (Movement I)


The Suite of Consequence (Movement I)


John Escreet Project


Consequences (Posi-Tone PR8042)

Buy Track


John Escreet (keyboards),

Ambrose Akinmusire (trumpet), David Binney (sax), Matt Brewer (bass), Tyshawn Sorey (drums)


Composed by John Escreet


Recorded: Brooklyn, NY, June 2008


Rating: 86/100 (learn more)

Consequences is the debut recording from the John Escreet Project. Pianist Escreet is an English transplant to New York City. The album contains a collection of his original compositions played with earnestness by a group of talented musicians.

"The Suite of Consequence (Movement I)" is the first movement of a 3-part suite. The piece is classical in structure, as one would surmise from its title. This is very much a scored production that you could imagine being heard in a melodramatic movie soundtrack. If not for the PR material that accompanies the CD, you would question whether there was any improvisation at all. But with that knowledge beforehand, you can determine the improvised sections. Without exception they are played in such a way as to maintain the core identity of the piece. That identity clearly has serious intentions. There are no smiles on these faces. This is music that takes a studied effort to play and to listen to. The group's rhythm section is tight, and Escreet, saxophonist David Binney and trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire are creative and lyrical players.

Reviewer: Walter Kolosky

If you liked this track, also check out

Tags: ·

Comments are closed.