Satoko Fujii Orchestra New York: Summer Suite


Summer Suite


Satoko Fujii Orchestra New York


Summer Suite (Libra Records 215 028)


Satoko Fujii (piano, leader),

Natsuki Tamura, Herb Robertson, Steven Bernstein, Dave Ballou (trumpets), Curtis Hasselbring, Joey Sellers, Joe Fiedler (trombones), Oscar Noriega, Briggan Krauss (alto saxes), Ellery Eskelin, Tony Malaby (tenor saxes), Andy Laster (baritone sax), Stomu Takeishi (bass), Aaron Alexander (drums)


Composed by Satoko Fujii


Recorded: New York. September 28, 2007


Rating: 92/100 (learn more)

Now this is a big statement. At just a shade over 39 minutes, Satoko Fujii's "Summer Suite" employs everything from more traditional sounds to Ayler-esque squeals of passion. After the first few mournful minutes, when you're beginning to think that a New Orleans second-line thing is about to happen, a single trumpet and then saxophone introduce some full horn section unison lines. The next transition takes a more "out" route, with those lone sax and trumpet offerings deconstructed into squawks and moans. When the full band kicks in again, it seems like a celebration. And on it goes for the next half hour. I've come to think of the unaccompanied solo passages as the connective tissue between the muscle of the assembled horns. And let me tell you, they have the power to make any 'ole statement they please!

Reviewer: Mark Saleski

Tags: · · ·

Comments are closed.