Julian Argüelles: Mind Your Head


Mind Your Head


Julian Argüelles (soprano sax)


Escapade (Provocateur PVC 1019)

Buy Track


Julian Argüelles (soprano sax),

Mark Bassey (trombone), Django Bates (tenor horn), Iain Dixon (clarinet), Mário Laginha (piano), Mike Walker (guitar), Steve Watts (bass), Martin France (drums, percussion)


Composed by Julian Argüelles


Recorded: London, June 1999


Rating: 88/100 (learn more)

This lengthy tune is admirably built: a slow first part, where the guitar's long notes repeat a meditative melody and create the atmosphere, then the piano adds its contrapuntal lines before the reeds join in as the beat starts swinging harder, evolving towards a kind of Caribbean dance feel. These musicians really cast the listener under their spell, leading progressively to a serene and joyous conclusion.

Reviewer: Thierry Quénum

Tags: ·

Comments are closed.