Ellery Eskelin: Wee See


Wee See


Ellery Eskelin (tenor sax)


The Secret Museum (Hatology 552)

Buy Track


Ellery Eskelin (tenor sax),

Andrea Parkins (accordion), Jim Black (drums)


Composed by Thelonious Monk


Recorded: Berikon, Switzerland, November 23-24, 1999


Rating: 88/100 (learn more)

This theme suits perfectly the trio that Ellery Eskelin has formed with Parkins and Black. It's angular and allows for sonic exploration in the repeated exposition of the short melody, and for random chorusing by adventurous musicians such as these three. Black's drums, even when they don't solo, are a constant source of rhythmic and sonic surprise in the way they support his partners, and the tenor's tough phrasing as well as the unique way Parkins plays her accordion contribute to a most interesting version of one of Monk's little masterworks.

Reviewer: Thierry Quénum

Tags: ·

Comments are closed.