[em]: Another Mr. Lizard


Another Mr. Lizard




[em] II (ACT Music)

Buy Track


Michael Wollny (piano),

Eva Kruse (bass), Eric Schaefer (drums)


Composed by Michael Wollny


Recorded: Gothenburg, Sweden, September 2005 & February 2006


Rating: 92/100 (learn more)

This German cooperative trio is definitely becoming one of the most interesting European piano trios. On its second record it displays an impressive ease with original compositions by its three members, and the present track by pianist Wollny is a good case in point. Tight interaction, as in the opening melodic unison between piano and drums over a bowed bass drone, twisted melody that never fails to swing, attention to the sound quality of each instrument that attracts your ear by playing in the chords, out of them and around them with a taste for surprise that never sounds conceited. These three young musicians are a delight to listen to.

Reviewer: Thierry Quénum

Tags: · · ·

Comments are closed.