Sonny Rollins: Without a Song


Without a Song


Sonny Rollins (tenor sax)


The Bridge (RCA Victor 09026-68518-2)

Buy Track


Sonny Rollins (tenor sax), Jim Hall (guitar), Bob Cranshaw (bass), Ben Riley (drums).

Composed by Edward Eliscu, Billy Rose & Vincent Youmans


Recorded: New York, February 13, 1962


Rating: 100/100 (learn more)

Sonny Rollins is remarkable because of the effortless way his ideas flow and develop. The interplay between him and Jim Hall on this album is truly great to hear. And his story of self-imposed exile is provocative. This album marked his return to public performance.

Reviewer: Ben Allison (for Desert Island Dozens)

Tags: · · ·

Comments are closed.