Oscar Pettiford: Nica's Tempo


Nica's Tempo



Deep Passion (GRP-Impulse GRD 143)

Buy Track


Oscar Pettiford (bass), Tommy Flanagan (piano), Art Farmer (trumpet), Gigi Gryce (alto sax),

Ernie Royal (trumpet), Jimmy Cleveland (trombone), Julius Watkins, David Amram (French horns), Lucky Thompson, Jerome Richardson (tenor saxes), Danny Bank (baritone sax), Osie Johnson(drums)


Recorded: New York, June 11, 1956


Rating: 93/100 (learn more)

Though Oscar Pettiford is well remembered as one of the fathers of modern jazz bass playing, his unique, short-lived big band and the two fine LPs they made for ABC Paramount are virtually unknown to the jazz public today. This reissue combines both albums on one CD. The distinctive instrumentation provides a dose of welcome relief from the usual "wall of sound" approach of most big bands, without sacrificing power or rhythmic intensity. The charts by Gigi Gryce, Lucky Thompson, and Benny Golson are quintessential examples of a post-Tadd Dameron style of writing that lives on today in the work of Jimmy Heath, Frank Foster, and Slide Hampton. On this track Flanagan, Farmer and Gryce contribute sparkling solos on one of Gryce's finest compositions.

Reviewer: Kenny Berger

Tags: ·

Comments are closed.