Gary McFarland: Hello to the Season


Hello to the Season


Gary McFarland (leader, vibes)


Point of Departure (Impulse A-46)

Buy Track


Gary McFarland (leader, vibes), Willie Dennis (trombone), Richie Kamuca (tenor sax), Jimmy Raney (guitar), Steve Swallow (bass), Mel Lewis (drums).

Composed & arranged by Gary McFarland


Recorded: New York, September 6, 1963


Rating: 94/100 (learn more)

Here is a band that one wishes had lasted longer. As it was, Gary McFarland gathered some of his favorite players and constructed a whole greater than the sum of its considerable parts. "Hello to the Season" is one of the album's best tracks, with a customarily memorable McFarland melody that is skillfully developed in his arrangement. The group sounds bigger and more orchestral than six pieces—not surprisingly.

Reviewer: Bill Kirchner


Comments are closed.