Melvyn Price: Voodoo Love Dance


Voodoo Love Dance


Melvyn Price (congas, trombone)


Rhythm and Blues (Waxpoetics WPR004)

Buy Track


Melvyn Price (congas, trombone),

Ed Epstein (tenor sax), Bjorn Wolff (piano), Guy Roellinger (electric bass), Bjorn Alke (kontrabass), Gunnar Nyberg, Fredrik Noren (drums), Luis Agudo (percussion), Jon Dill (congas)


Composed by Melvyn Price


Recorded: Stockholm, Sweden, January 14 & 23, 1974


Rating: 92/100 (learn more)

We can argue the politics of the late 1960s until we're apoplectic with rage, yet one fact remains clear: those turbulent times were (indirectly) responsible for Melvyn Price's relocation to Europe, spawning the delivery of a classic jazz & soul record: Price's Rhythm and Blues. The opening track showcases Price's Cuban-flavored sound, with a long percussion segment that segues into the main theme thrown down by Ed Epstein's killer sax. A bit later, pianist Bjorn Wolff takes a long solo that's always bolstered by a funky bassline and the entire cast of soulful percussion. Soul from Scandinavia...who knew?!!

Reviewer: Mark Saleski


Comments are closed.