Aaron Irwin: Little Hurts


Little Hurts


Aaron Irwin (alto sax)


Blood and Thunder (Fresh Sound Records FSNT - 320)

Buy Track


Aaron Irwin (alto sax), Ben Monder (guitar),

Chris Cheek (tenor sax), Eliza Cho (violin), Matt Clohesy (bass), Ferenc Nemeth (drums)


Composed by Aaron Irwin


Recorded: Brooklyn, NY, February 11 and 13, 2008


Rating: 88/100 (learn more)

Aaron Irwin may be running the show here, but guitarist Ben Monder is the secret weapon. Monder sets up a moody undercurrent with some swampy and reverb-laden arpeggios over which Irwin and Chris Cheek develop, in unison, the rising theme. When the horns split apart mid-song, taking simultaneous solos, "Little Hurts" steps above the expected head/solos format.

Ah, but it's Monder who holds the trump card, busting out an absolutely volcanic guitar solo that might be labeled "fusion" if it weren't for the decidedly non-fusion context. Don't let the "F-word" dissuade you, as this is a load of fun.

Reviewer: Mark Saleski


Comments are closed.