John McLaughlin: Miles Davis


Miles Davis


John McLaughlin and the One Truth Band


Electric Dreams (Columbia/Legacy CK 48892)

Buy Track


John McLaughlin (guitar),

L. Shankar (violin), Stu Goldberg (keyboards), Fernando Saunders (bass), Tony Smith (drums), Alyrio Lima (percussion)


Composed by John McLaughlin


Recorded: New York, November 1978


Rating: 82/100 (learn more)

"Miles Davis" is one of two songs on Electric Dreams meant to honor Miles. The other, "The Dark Prince," actually debuted live at the Havana Jam Jazz Festival as performed by the Trio of Doom, which featured McLaughlin, Tony Williams and Jaco Pastorius. Though "Miles Davis" possesses an interesting rhythmic energy and some engaging elements, it is not up to the general standards of McLaughlin's better compositions. It seems to stand in place. Of course you will hear some great guitar, and Goldberg kicks it on keyboards. You will also dig some off-the-hook riffs. But without that forward movement you will not feel that you have been transported anywhere special.

Reviewer: Walter Kolosky

Tags: · ·

Comments are closed.