Joshua Redman Elastic Band: Shut Your Mouth


Shut Your Mouth


Joshua Redman Elastic Band


Momentum (Nonesuch 79864)

Buy Track


Joshua Redman (tenor sax), Sam Yahel (bass synth, rhodes, organ, clavinet, lead synth), Jeff Ballard (drums).

Composed by Sam Yahel


Recorded: Multiple locations, no date given (CD released in 2005)


Rating: 92/100 (learn more)

Most funk bands bring in a whole posse to slam that backbeat into submission. But a funk trio with no bass guitar? And no percussionists to keep company with the drummer? Leave it to Joshua Redman to try to stretch his Elastic Band to build such a big sound with so small a cadre. Of course it helps that Sam Yahel has more electric equipment plugged in than a Best Buy on Labor Day weekend. But drummer Jeff Ballard deserves special credit for keeping this number simmering for the full 5 minutes. And our star of the sax acts like he trained his axe on stacks and stacks of Stax. Tawdry crossover, you say? I reply: "Shut your mouth!"

Reviewer: Ted Gioia

Tags: ·

Comments are closed.