Pierre Dørge's New Jungle Orchestra: Hawk Meets Sun Ra


Hawk Meets Sun Ra


Pierre Dørge's New Jungle Orchestra


Giraf (dacapo 9440)

Buy Track


Pierre Dørge (guitar),

Kasper Trauberg (cornet), Kenneth Agerholm, Mads Hyhne (trombones), Jakob Mygind (alto sax), Morten Carlsen (tenor sax), Hugo Rasmussen (bass), Bent Clausen (drums), Ayi Solomon (percussion)


Composed by Pierre Dørge


Recorded: Copenhagen, Denmark, November-December 1998


Rating: 96/100 (learn more)

Pierre Dørge's New Jungle Orchestra has been Denmark's answer to Austria's Vienna Art Orchestra led by Matthias Rüegg. Both Dørge and Rüegg are extremely eclectic, each for many years offering music that encompasses all styles of jazz, European classical music, and various World musics.

If the Hawk reference in the title of Dørge's composition "Hawk Meets Sun Ra" is Coleman Hawkins, the connection to the tenor great is nowhere evident in the music, solos or arrangement on this track, unless the central repeated riff of the theme harks back to an undetermined Hawkins tune or solo. The Sun Ra influence is primarily found in the African-tinged rhythms that introduce this pianoless piece, setting a stalking, ponderous tempo, as trombones and cornet phrase energetically above it. Trauberg's cornet impresses with both his strikingly rich tone and the boisterous content of his improvisation. The insistent repeated riff appears just prior to a rambunctious trombone solo by either Agerholm or Hyhne, which soon evolves into stabbing contrapuntal jousts with altoist Mygind before the trombonist resumes his journey. The initial rhythmic pulse is reinstated along with tantalizing horn motifs, and the spirited riff quickly follows. A heady group improv is now launched, leading to a decrescendo that ends in a whisper. "Hawk Meets Sun Ra," containing neither a saxophone nor a piano solo, is nonetheless irresistible.

Reviewer: Scott Albin

Tags: · ·

Comments are closed.