McCoy Tyner: Afro Blue


Afro Blue


McCoy Tyner (piano)


Song of the New World (Milestone)

Buy Track


McCoy Tyner (piano), Hubert Laws (flute, piccolo), Sonny Fortune (flute, alto & tenor saxes),

Virgil Jones, Cecil Bridgewater, Jon Faddis (trumpets), Garnett Brown, Dick Griffin (trombones), Kiane Zawadi (euphonium), Julius Watkins, Willie Ruff, William Warnick III (French horns), Bob Stewart (tuba), Juney Booth (bass), Alphonse Mouzon (drums), Sonny Morgan (congas)


Composed by Mongo Santamaria


Recorded: New York, April 9, 1973


Rating: 91/100 (learn more)

Although his former employer John Coltrane made this Mongo Santamaria-penned song a permanent staple of his repertoire, McCoy Tyner takes the tune to new heights with an all-star ensemble. The piece opens with lushly orchestrated flute trills and light hand percussion, setting the mood for the journey at hand. The band has no problem handling the 6/8 groove. When the main part of the head kicks in, it invokes feelings of grandeur and adventure, with Alphonse Mouzon setting the stage for Hubert Laws and Sonny Fortune to trade flute lines. Tyner then shows why he is such a heralded pianist, with a ferocious but melodic solo that forces the listener to concentrate on Tyner's left hand as much as his right. This is a stellar arrangement of an already classic composition.

Reviewer: Jared Pauley

Tags: · ·

Comments are closed.