Lettuce: Sam Huff's Flying Ragin' Machine


Sam Huff's Flying Ragin' Machine




Rage (Velour)

Buy Track


Sam Kininger (tenor sax),

Rashawn Ross (trumpet), Ryan Zoldis (alto sax), Neal Evans (keyboards), Eric Krasno (lead guitar), Adam ‘Shmeeans’ Smirnoff (rhythm guitar), Erick ‘Jesus’ Coomes (bass), Adam Deitch (drums)


Composed by Adam ‘Shmeeans’ Smirnoff & Adam Deitch


Recorded: New York, 2007


Rating: 92/100 (learn more)

In the concisely titled "Sam Huff's Flying Ragin' Machine," Lettuce is once again demonstrating their funkadelicious command of Parliamentary procedure in a pneumatic number that should be required to post its own warning label: "Will result in spontaneous gyration!" At the right volume level, this track would have Lester Maddox dancing in his grave. No flights of modal fancy take place, no historic transcribe-able solos just the vamp, the energy and the inertia of a few decades in the Temple of Funk. Take it to your place of worship and play it loud! Shakers will shake it, Quakers will quake it, and Fakirs will no longer have to fake it.

Reviewer: Bill Barnes


Comments are closed.