Steve Haines Quintet with Jimmy Cobb: Re: Frayne


Re: Frayne


Steve Haines Quintet with Jimmy Cobb


Stickadiboom (Zoho 200903)

Buy Track


Steve Haines (bass), Rob Smith (trumpet), David Lown (tenor sax), Chip Crawford (piano),

Thomas Taylor (drums)


Composed by Steve Haines


Recorded: New York, November 6 or 7, 2007


Rating: 84/100 (learn more)

The opening of bassist Steve Haines's rubato ballad "Re: Frayne" strongly resembles Charlie Haden's composition "Silence," a tune Haden has recorded several times since its debut on his 1979 album Magico (ECM) with a trio that also included Jan Garbarek and Egberto Gismonti. Haines's direct and relatively unadorned melody statement and solo seem to reflect a Haden influence, as well. Haines is accompanied by pianist Chip Crawford, who plays the sparsely voiced chords in a simple harmonic rhythm. Drummer Thomas Taylor enters a couple of minutes in, adding a subtle percussive impetus. The bass solo gives way to a harmonically ambiguous free-time section, featuring David Lown on tenor sax playing in the manner of John Coltrane, circa 1961. A nearly silent piano episode follows, wherein Chip Crawford plucks notes one at a time. Another free-time collective—this time featuring soprano saxophonist Rob Smith—leads into a brief recap of the opening section. Taylor distinguishes himself, and the other players are very capable. A solid performance in a tried-and-true bag.

Reviewer: Chris Kelsey


Comments are closed.