Russ Spiegel: The Rub


The Rub


The Russ Spiegel Jazz Orchestra


Transplants (Ruzztone Music 1001)

Buy Track


Russ Spiegel (guitar), Arun Luthra (reeds), Craig Yaremko (reeds), Tim Armacost (reeds), Dan Pratt (reeds), Frank Basile (reeds), Colin Brigstocke (trumpet), Sharif Kales (trumpet), David Smith (trumpet), Charles Porter (trumpet), James Smith (trumpet), Michael Boscarino (trombone), John Yoa (trombone), Jack David (trombone), Darrell Hendricks (trombone), Rachael Eckroth (piano), Yoshi Waki (bass), Owen Howards (drums), Todd Isler (percussion), Jack Davis (percussion).

Composed by Russ Spiegel


Recorded: Systems 2, Brooklyn, New York, May 5, 2006


Rating: 86/100 (learn more)

I love the way this track starts off, with a bunch of horns sort of swaying back and forth, mashing and melting a single tone off its center. The sound is almost animalistic, and makes you think something even more ominous is about to come along. Curiously, that's not what happens. Instead, Russ Spiegel's orchestra launches into some huge, swelling chords that set up the rest of the composition. There are some shattering crescendos and inspired horn work, particularly David Smith's blistering trumpet solo.

Ah, but the guitar nerd in me was waiting for leader and guitarist Russ Spiegel to step out. Sure enough, Spiegel does not disappoint. Here he sounds quite a bit like Pat Metheny, not so much in tone but in his tendency to employ very long melodic lines. It's a lot of fun to follow one that bridges both quiet sections and raucous horn swells. Very promising stuff.

Reviewer: Mark Saleski

Tags: ·

Comments are closed.