Jeff Tain Watts: 107 Steps


107 Steps



Detained At The Blue Note (Half Note 4518)

Buy Track


Jeff "Tain" Watts (drums),

David Gilmore (guitar), Dave Kikoski (piano), Eric Revis (bass)


Composed by Bjork, Sjon and Lars von Trier


Recorded: Blue Note, New York, February 7-8, 2005


Rating: 95/100 (learn more)

The drummer Jeff “Tain” Watts has a fertile imagination, to say the least. How he transposed Bjork’s slow and sweeping “107 Steps” into a burning, swinging jazz tune is beyond this writer, and a testament to Watts’ skill as an arranger. And yet it’s all there in Bjork’s original recording: that great, syncopated bass line, the melody, the changes… it just took a great mind to hear it. And a great band to play it right. Watts, behind the kit, is an undeniable force, and the tenor saxophonist Marcus Strickland is a strong and flowing improviser, simply erupting with ideas. The guitarist David Gilmore, heard elsewhere with Don Byron and Steve Coleman, is no slouch either: phrase after phrase, Gilmore digs in with precision, and striking fluidity.

Reviewer: Brad Farberman

Tags: · · ·

Comments are closed.