Wasilewski, Kurkiewicz & Miskiewicz: Hyper-Ballad





Trio (ECM 1891)

Buy Track


Marcin Wasilewski (piano), Slawomir Kurkiewicz (bass), Michal Miskiewicz (drums).

Composed by Bjork


Recorded: Oslo, March 2004


Rating: 92/100 (learn more)

Marcin Wasilewski, Slawomir Kurkiewicz and Michal Miskiewicz are best known as Polish trumpeter Tomasz Stanko’s current rhythm section. But on their own, the trio (sometimes operating under the moniker ‘Simple Acoustic Trio’) creates some truly stirring sounds, and in 2004, they stirred up the music of their heroes with their ECM debut. On the album, the group interprets Wayne Shorter’s “Plaza Real,” Stanko’s “Green Sky,” and Bjork’s “Hyper-ballad.” The latter, a powerful exercise in mid-1990s electronica, is given new life by Wasilewski and company. Now truly a ballad, “Hyper-ballad” reveals itself to be sparse and sentimental, where Bjork’s version was heavy, and tense. Wasilewski is a patient player, and knows just what notes not to play. We’ll be hearing more from him, no doubt.

Reviewer: Brad Farberman

Tags: · · ·

Comments are closed.