Yaron Herman: Army Of Me


Army Of Me


Yaron Herman (piano)


A Time for Everything (Laborie 4)

Buy Track


Yaron Herman (piano), Matt Brewer (bass), Gerald Cleaver (drums).

Composed by Bjork and Graham Massey


Recorded: Pompignan, France, January 29-February 1, 2007


Rating: 92/100 (learn more)

Simply put, “Army of Me” is Bjork at her best. The lead track off of 1995’s Post, “Army” is brash, catchy, and full of fire and attitude. Plus, it features a distorted and snarling bass ostinato that you’ll never quite get out of your head. So it was only a matter of time before someone tackled this one. And, fortunately, that someone’s version is a fine re-imagining. The young pianist Yaron Herman, from Paris (but born and raised in Israel), featured this tune on his 2007 trio album A Time for Everything, and took it to that fuzzy middle ground between jazz and rock most often occupied by bands like The Bad Plus and Sex Mob. Herman, a tasteful and sprightly player, nearly swings the tune at times, but the intensity and feel of the arrangement is more in line with rock music. He is supported here by the double bassist Matt Brewer and driving drummer Gerald Cleaver. Other cover tunes on A Time for Everything include Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah” and Britney Spears’ “Toxic.”

Reviewer: Brad Farberman

Tags: · · ·

Comments are closed.