Weekend Track Review Roundup

It’s not your typical Juneteenth around jazz.com. Like beaming parents, we are celebrating the arrival of our 2,500th review. I am not sure which makes us prouder – the milestone or the fact that the author is tenor titan Joe Lovano.

Check back in a few days to read it . . . as part of Mr. Lovano’s guest Dozens, where he selects and discusses twelve favorite John Coltrane tracks. This article will mark the latest in our “guest artist” Dozens series, edited by the estimable Ted Panken, who recently brought you Randy Brecker’s overview of Freddie Hubbard tracks and Eric Reed’s survey of the work of Ahmad Jamal.

In the meantime, we present links below to a sampling of jazz.com reviews published during the last three weeks. As always, our goal -- quixotic, yet noble -- is to cover all the great (and not so great) tracks recorded by jazz artists since the first tawdry story came out of Storyville. We aim for a fairly even balance between covering new music and old music. Five times each week, we highlight a Song of the Day drawn from the best of the current releases. We also offer a daily retrospective glance at a jazz masterpiece, as part of our A Classic Revisited feature.

All reviews come with fair and judicious appraisal that would make Learned Hand proud, and a ranking based on our proprietary 100 point scale. We also include, whenever possible, links for fast (and legal) downloading. And site visitors can add their own concurring or dissenting opinions at the bottom of each review.

Dizzy Gillespie & Stan Getz: It Don’t Mean a Thing
Keith Jarrett: The Survivors’ Suite
Esbjörn Svensson: Somewhere Else Before
Chick Corea: Compadres
Ornette Coleman: First Take
John Coltrane: Afro Blue
Wynton Marsalis: The Majesty of the Blues
Queen Latifah: I Love Being Here With You
Keith Jarrett: Death and the Flower
Eddie Daniels: Falling in Love With Love
Django Reinhardt: Improvisation No. 2
Sonny Rollins: We Kiss in Shadow
Miles Davis: Bess, You Is My Woman Now
Charles Mingus: Dizzy Moods
Lennie Tristano: Background Music
Sauter-Finegan Orchestra: These Foolish Things
Art Pepper: Star Eyes
Wynton Marsalis: Stardust
Warne Marsh: The Nearness of You
Weather Report: Black Market (Live)
Allan Holdsworth: Velvet Darkness
Tete Montoliu: Straight No Chaser
Chubby Jackson: A Ballad for Jai
Bud Powell: Just One of Those Things
Sonny Rollins & Coleman Hawkins: Just Friends
Ahn Trio: My Funny Valentine
Lenny White: Mating Drive
Gong: Soli
Pat Martino: Line Games
Benny Carter: A Foggy Day
Stan Kenton & June Christy: Prelude to a Kiss
Chico Freeman: It Never Entered My Mind
Von Freeman: Portrait of John Young
Stanley Clarke: Lopsy Lu
Elli Fordyce: Dindi
Jack DeJohnette: Minority
Jack DeJohnette: One for Eric
Mark Levine: I Didn’t Know What Time It Was
Miles Davis / Bill Laswell: In a Silent Way
Shakti: Face to Face
Jean-Luc Ponty: Is Once Enough?
John La Barbera: Walk on the Wild Side
Sonny Rollins: Grand Street
Jean-Luc Ponty: New Country
Teddy Wilson: More Than You Know
Toben Waldorff: Squealfish
Jackie McLean: Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
John Coltrane: Chasin’ Another Trane
James Blood Ulmer: Jazz is the Teacher
Jackie McLean: Melody for Melonae
Billy Cobham: Life and Times
Weather Report: Volcano for Hire
Jean-Luc Ponty: Demagomania
David Sancious: Suite (From the End of An Age)
Benny Carter: I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good)
Paul Gonsalves: I Surrender Dear
Soprano Summit: Chalumeau Blue
Tim Hagans: Over and Back
Hugo Díaz: Milonga Triste

This blog entry posted by Ted Gioia



June 19, 2008 · 0 comments

Tags:


Weekend Track Review Roundup

Jazz.com’s team of hard-nosed critics never rest. Below are links to some of the reviews published in the last three weeks. As you will see, these encompass all eras and styles of jazz, and are part of our quixotic but noble attempt to cover all the great (and not so great) tracks recorded since Funky Butt Hall got its first taste of funk.

As always, we provide candid appraisals, and a ranking based on our proprietary 100 point scale. We also include, whenever possible, links for fast (and legal) downloading. And site visitors can play Monday morning critic, posting comments of their own at the bottom of each review.

Miles Davis: Fran Dance
Keith Jarrett; The Köln Concert: Part I
Thelonious Monk: I Surrender Dear
Abbey Lincoln: Blue Monk
John Coltrane: Aisha
Art Pepper; September Song
Louis Armstrong: Chinatown, My Chinatown
Paul Bley: When Will the Blues Leave
Eric Dolphy: Tenderly
Brad Mehldau: The Very Thought of You
Mitchel Forman: Mister Clean
Andrew Hill; Dusk
Freddie Hubbard: Here’s That Rainy Day
Charlie Haden: Ida Lupino
Tony Williams: Vuelta Abajo
Jim Hall: Frisell Frazzle
Roy Hargrove: Whisper Not
Zoot Sims: Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams
Trilok Gurtu: Ballad for 2 Musicians
Keith Jarrett & Jim Pepper: Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
Benny Goodman & Jimmy Rowles: Mean to Me
Jimmy Smith: Blues for J
The Rosenberg Trio: Minor Swing
Gianfranco Continenza: Outside That Door
Steve Kuhn: Beautiful Love
Charlie Parker: Just Friends
Ron Blake: Shades of Brown
Michael Jefry Stevens: For the Children
Fred Randolph: Ice Nine
Joe Farrell: Molten Glass
Lennie Tristano & Lee Konitz: If I Had You
Johnny Harman: These Foolish Things
Warne Marsh: Yardbird Suite
Adam Levy: Dear John
Michel Petrucciani: Contradictions
David Sanborn: Another Hand
John McLaughlin: When Love is Far Away
Jim Hall & Ron Carter: Alone Together
John Scofield: I’ll Take Les
Johnny Griffin: A Monk’s Dream
Bill Evans & Zoot Sims: Funkallero
Nicholas Payton: Fleur de Lis
Abdullah Ibrahim: Water from an Ancient Well
John Hicks: Lush Life
Gene Ammons: Hittin’ the Jug
Louie Bellson & Clark Terry: Chicago Suite 1
Birelli Lagrene: All the Things You Are
Stanley Clarke: Desert Song
Paco de Lucia: Alta Mar
Mike Stern: Swunka
Stanley Clarke: Desert Song
Sarah Vaughan: In a Sentimental Mood

This blog entry posted by Ted Gioia



May 08, 2008 · 0 comments

Tags:


Weekend Track Review Roundup

A few days ago, jazz.com published its 2,000th review – pretty good for a web site that only opened its doors on December 10. Our team of 33 critics have joined forces on a grand collaboration that aims to cover the full extent of the art form, including major releases, noteworthy indie projects, and historic performances from the past. As a result, we are now publishing more jazz reviews than any other media outlet, in print or on the web.

Unlike the other guides to music available to jazz fans, we review individual tracks, not entire CDs. You can search for specific tracks in our growing database by using the search engine in the left sidebar on our Music page. Every track is evalutated, and given a ranking based on jazz.com’s proprietary 100 point scale. Reviews also come with full personnel and recording info, as well as a link for fast (and legal) downloading.

We remain committed to our quixotic but noble quest to review all of the great (and not-so-great) jazz tracks recorded since the Duke of Ellington discovered the first blue note. Below are links to a few of the reviews published during the last several weeks.

Miles Davis: Violet
John Handy: Spanish Lady
Lew Tabackin: I Surrender Dear
Chick Corea: Five Hundred Miles High
Michael Brecker: Brexterity
Roland Kirk: Slippery, Hippery, Flippery
Willie ‘The Lion’ Smith: Echoes of Spring
Oscar Peterson: Wheatland
Branford Marsalis: The Beautyful Ones Are Not Yet Born
Bill Laswell: Lost Roads
Dave Liebman: India
Sam Rivers: Beatrice
Medeski, Martin, & Wood: Dracula
Petite Blonde: Two Price Hit
Thomas Chapin: Drinkin’
V.S.O.P.: Red Clay
John McLaughlin: Hope
Andy Bey: Lush Life
Larry Coryell & the Eleventh House: Birdfingers
Jerry Goodman: Tears of Joy
Terry Gibbs: What’s New
Jaco Pastorius: Continuum
Chet Baker (with Phil Urso): To Mickey’s Memory
Stu Goldberg: Morning Star
Art Blakey: A Night in Tunisia
Pepper Adams: Valse Celtique
John Abercrombie: Long Ago and Far Away
Tony Williams Lifetime: Red Alert
Dinah Washington: All of Me
Wally Schnalle: Shouldn’t Be That Way
Andy Summers: Charis
Jesse Davis: On the Sunny Side of the Street
Carlos Santana: Swapan Tari
Joe Henderson: Take the ‘A’ Train
Art Farmer: Soul Eyes
Toshiko Akiyoshi: Cleopatra’s Dream
Brian Auger: Listen Here
Gerald Wilson: Warm Mood
Russell Gunn: Shiva
Tony Williams: Neptune: Overture
Tal Farlow: Taking a Chance on Love
Jean-Luc Ponty: Mam’ Mai
Charlie Watts: Relaxin’ at Camarillo

This blog entry posted by Ted Gioia



April 17, 2008 · 0 comments

Tags:


Weekend Track Review Roundup

Jazz.com has published 157 reviews during the last three weeks – offering our site visitors the widest coverage of jazz music available anywhere, in print or on the web. Whether your idea of a “jazz marriage made in heaven” is Bob Dorough & Dave Frishberg or Marty Ehrlich & Muhal Richard Abrams, the jazz.com team of more than thirty reviewers has it covered.

We now have almost 2,000 track reviews in our large (and constantly growing) database. You can search for specific tracks, artists or CDs by using the new and improved search engine in the left sidebar on our Music page.

Unlike other jazz media outlets, jazz.com reviews individual tracks, not entire CDs. This allows reviewers (and readers, who are invited to publish their own addendums to each and every review) to hash out the pros and cons of a wide range of songs, with a degree of specificity hardly possible in a more general CD review. Reviews also come with full personnel and recording info, as well as a link for fast (and legal) downloading.

We remain committed to our quixotic but noble quest to review all of the great (and not-so-great) tracks recorded since the first red light went up in Storyville. Keep an eye on this space for further developments. Meanwhile, you will find links below to a few of the reviews published during the last two weeks. As always, every review includes a ranking based on jazz.com’s proprietary 100 point scale.

Coleman Hawkins: The Man I Love
Woody Shaw: All the Things You Are
Dianne Reeves: Lullaby of Broadway
Ornette Coleman & Joachim Kühn: Faxing
Kenny Barron & Regina Carter: Fragile
Danny Gottlieb: Aquamarine
Lizz Wright: Hey Mann
Frank Trumbauer: I Never Miss the Sunshine
Keith Jarrett & Gary Burton: Como en Vietnam
Charlie Parker: I Get a Kick Out of You
Donald Byrd: Mustang
Benny Goodman & Charlie Christian: Benny’s Bugle
Muhal Richard Abrams & Marty Ehrlich: Blues to You
Bob Dorough & Dave Frishberg: Where You At?
Mike Stern: DC
Michael Franks: The Lady Wants to Know
Count Basie: Blee Blop Blues
Vinnie Colaiuta: John’s Blues
Dixie Dregs: Cruise Control
Mark Elf: Liftoff
Jeff Beck: Blue Wind
Pharoah Sanders: Japan
Bob Mintzer: Mine is Yours
Michel Camilo & Tomatito: Spain
Marc Ducret & Bobby Previte: Handy
Bob Dorough & Dave Frishberg: Where You At?
Ted Heath: Father Knickerbocker
Al Di Meola: Egyptian Danza
Steve Kuhn: Oceans in the Sky
Béla Fleck: The Sinister Minister
Toots Thielemans: Waltz for Debby
Miles Davis (with Charlie Parker): Round Midnight
Tito Rodriguez: Perdido
Gary Husband: Celestial Terrestrial Commuters
Stu Goldberg & Cassius Khan: Ragamala
Martial Solal & Johnny Griffin: You Stepped Out of a Dream
Rita Marcotulli: Les 400 Coups
Eric Vloeimans: Chorizo
Bill Evans: Let the Juice Loose
Oliver Nelson: Hoe Down
Jim Beard: Diana

This blog entry posted by Ted Gioia



March 20, 2008 · 0 comments

Tags:


Weekend Track Review Roundup

Jazz.com’s team of 33 reviewers has published 600 reviews during the last ten weeks – offering our site visitors the widest coverage of jazz music available anywhere, in print or on the web. These reviews encompass the whole history of the music, from the classics of decades past to the latest releases out this week.

Unlike other jazz media outlets, jazz.com reviews individual tracks, not entire CDs. This allows reviewers (and readers, who are invited to add their own comments to each and every review) to discuss the music with a degree of specificity and detail hardly possible in a more general CD review. Reviews also come with complete personnel and recording info, as well as a link for fast (and legal) downloading.

Below is a round-up of a few of the reviews published during the last two weeks. As always, we include a ranking based on jazz.com’s proprietary 100 point scale.

You can search through all 1,800 reviews in our large (and constantly growing) database by using the new and improved search engine in the left sidebar on our Music page. It will allow you to search by artist, sideman, song title, or CD name.

Of course, jazz.com has just scratched the surface so far - after all, our web site is less than three months old. In any event, we remain committed to our quixotic but noble quest to review all of the great (or not-so-great) tracks recorded since Thomas Edison first captured the strains of “Ornithology” on a wax cylinder. Keep an eye on this space for further developments. Meanwhile, check out the most recent batch of reviews below.

Miles Davis: Venus de Milo
Uri Caine: Cheek to Cheek
Wynton Marsalis: Cherokee
Charlie Parker: Parker’s Mood
McCoy Tyne: Passion Dance
Dexter Gordon: The Moontrane
Dave Douglas: The Infinite
Michael Brecker: African Skies
Nick Brignola: Tears Inside
Bert Joris: Mr. Dodo
Arild Andersen: Pavane
Ahmad Jamal: Wave
John McLaughlin: New York on My Mind
Patricia Barber: Yesterdays
Giovanni Mirabassi: El Paso del Ebro
Clusone 3: Skylark
Larry Coryell: Tamari
Steve Coleman: Embryo
Ernst Reijseger and Franco D'Andrea: Two Colors
Freddie Hubbard: But Beautiful
Jack Walrath: Orange Has Me Down
Gianluigi Trovesi: Variazioni su Ose Shalom
Alan Broadbent & Gary Foster; Relaxin’ at Camarillo
Felipe Salles: Seven Days
Betty Carter: Feed the Fire
Donald Brown: On Green Dolphin Street
Keb Mo: Come On in My Kitchen
Oliver Nelson: Three Plus One
Jan Hammer; Oh, Yeah?
Alexi Tuomarila: Noaidi
Cuong Vu: Accelerated Thoughts
Art Pepper: Winter Moon
Lucky Thompson: Deep Passion
Elisabeth Kontomanou: Sunny
Bobo Stenson: Bengali Blue

This blog entry posted by Ted Gioia



March 06, 2008 · 0 comments

Tags:


Weekend Track Review Roundup

Jazz.com continues its quixotic but noble pursuit of reviewing all the great - and even not-so-great – jazz tracks recorded since those ancient days when Kenny G’s grandfather played with Louis Armstrong in Congo Square.

Here is a round-up of a few of the reviews published during the last two weeks. As always, we provide pithy assessments, and a ranking based on our proprietary 100 point scale. We also include, whenever possible, links for fast (and legal) downloading. And site visitors can offer their own rebuttals in the 'comments' section at the bottom of every review.

Lester Young: All of Me
Frank Sinatra: Summer Wind
Wes Montgomery: Four on Six
Uri Caine: Blackbird
Sonny Rollins: There Is No Greater Love
Charlie Parker & Dizzy Gillespie: A Night in Tunisia (live at Massey Hall)
Vince Guaraldi: Fenwyck’s Farfel
Stan Kenton: Fascinating Rhythm
John Scofield: Let’s Say We Did
Arkady Shilkoper: Alpine Sketch
Greg Osby: Indiana
Louis Sclavis: Napoli’s Walls
Weather Report: Mr. Gone
Steve Lacy; Evidence
Max Roach: Blues Waltz
Michel Godard: C’era Una Strega, C’era Una Fata
Oscar Peterson: When Lights Are Low
Sylvain Luc: Brazil
Chris Anderson: Where or When
John McLaughlin & Carlos Santana: Let Us Go Into the House of the Lord
Maria João & Mário Laginha: Há Gente Aqui
Jim Hall: Things Ain’t What They Used to Be
Chick Corea & Return to Forever: After the Cosmic Rain
Diana Krall: I Was Doing Alright
Jorge Pardo: Caravan
Billy Cobham: The Pleasant Pheasant
Ganelin Trio: Conversation III
McCoy Tyner: Giant Steps
Daniel Humair: Blanc Cassé
Enrico Rava: Cromosomi
Bojan Z: The Mohican and the Great Spirit
Richard Gallano: You Must Believe in Spring
Larry Young: Testifying
Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin: Modul 39_8

You can search through all of the reviews in our large (and constantly growing) database by using the (recently enhanced) search engine in the left sidebar on our Music page.

This blog entry posted by Ted Gioia



February 21, 2008 · 0 comments

Tags:


Weekend Track Review Roundup

Jazz.com published it 1,500th review earlier this week, but we are not slowing down. We continues in our quixotic but noble pursuit of reviewing all the great - and even not-so-great – jazz tracks recorded since those ancient days before Preservation Hall required preservatives.

Here is a round-up of a few of the reviews published during the last two weeks. As always, we provide incisive assessments, and a ranking based on our proprietary 100 point scale. We also include, whenever possible, links for fast (and legal) downloading. And site visitors can offer their own advice or dissent in the 'comments' section at the bottom of every review.

Oscar Peterson & Dizzy Gillespie: Caravan
Stan Getz & Kenny Barron: Night and Day
Freddie Hubbard: Mirrors
Phineas Newborn Jr.: Lush Life
Ralph Towner: Nimbus
Dave Holland: Jugglers Parade
Art Pepper: Over the Rainbow
Count Basie: The King
Booker Ervin: A Lunar Tune
Paco De Lucia: Casa Bernardo
Blossom Dearie: Tea for Two
Mark Murphy: On Green Dolphin Street
J.J. Johnson: Carolyn in the Morning
Gonzalo Rubalcaba: Peace
Circle: Song for the Newborn
Geri Allen: Lush Life
Maynard Ferguson: Love Locked Out
Henry “Pucho” Brown: Georgia On My Mind
Jane Ira Bloom: Mental Weather
Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers: My Romance
Art Tatum: Willow Weep for Me (studio version 1949)
Steve Coleman: Easy Living
Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin: Modul 42
Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin: Modul 45
Mel Tormé: The Way You Look Tonight
Mark Elf: Tea Cup
Mahavishnu Orchestra: Open Country Joy
Ran Blake & Jaki Byard: Tea for Two
Stan Kenton: Bogota
Frank Kimbrough: Wig Wise

You can search through all 1,500 reviews in our large (and constantly growing) database by using the search engine in the left sidebar on our Music page. (A new and improved search engine will be added during the course of the weekend – I will have more to say on that soon.)

This blog entry posted by Ted Gioia



February 07, 2008 · 0 comments

Tags:


Weekend Track Review Roundup

Jazz.com continues its quixotic but noble pursuit of reviewing all the great - and even not-so-great – jazz tracks recorded since Jelly Roll Morton was in swaddling clothes.

Here is a round-up of a few of the reviews published during the last the ten days. As always, we provide smart and final assessments, and a ranking based on our proprietary 100 point scale. We also include, whenever possible, links for fast (and legal) downloading. And site visitors are can add their own two cents, or even high denomination bills, in the 'comments' section at the bottom of every review.

You can search through all 1,400 reviews in our large (and constantly growing) database by using the search engine in the left sidebar on our Music page.

Count Basie (with J.J. Johnson): Rambo
Count Basie: Stay On It
John Coltrane: The Night has a Thousand Eyes
Miles Davis: Footprints
Paul Desmond & Gerry Mulligan: All the Things You Are
Duke Ellington: Jack the Bear
Bill Evans (with Claus Ogerman): Symbiosis
Taylor Haskins: Live Free or Die
Billie Holiday: Good Morning Heartache
Stan Kenton: All the Things You Are
Stan Kenton: Elegy for Alto
Oliver Lake: Montana Grass Song
Pat Martino: Dozen Down
Charles Mingus: II B.S.
King Oliver and Louis Armstrong: Chimes Blues
Jack Reilly: Round Midnight
Shorty Rogers: Didi
Jamie Saft: Ariel
Ken Serio: Big Blue Cars
George Shearing: So Rare
Wayne Shorter (with Milton Nascimento): Ponte de Areia
Horace Silver: Enchantment
Steely Dan: Aja
John Taylor: Tramonto
Mel Tormé and the Marty Paich Dek-tette: The Carioca
Lennie Tristano: 317 E. 32nd Street
Mark Turner (with Joshua Redman): 317 E. 32nd Street
McCoy Tyner (with Michael Brecker): Flying High
Weather Report: Elegant People
John Zorn: New Jersey Scum Swamp


This blog entry was posted by Ted Gioia.

January 24, 2008 · 0 comments

Tags:


Track Review Round-up

Jazz.com continues its quixotic but noble pursuit of reviewing all the great -- and even the not-so-great -- tracks since Buddy Bolden first hit a flatted third. Here is a small sampling of some of the track reviews posted in the last few days. As always, we provide sly and savvy assessments, and a ranking based on our proprietary 100 point scale. We also include, whenever possible, links for fast (and legal) downloading.

Gil Evans: La Nevada from Out of the Cool
Sonny Rollins: The Freedom Suite from The Freedom Suite
Wynton Marsalis: Sister Cheryl from Wynton Marsalis
Bill Evans: My Foolish Heart from The Complete Live at the Village Vanguard, 1961
Pat Martino: We’ll Be Together Again from We’ll Be Together Again
George Benson: Giblet Gravy from Giblet Gravy
Nancy King: Stompin’ at the Savoy from Impending Bloom
Shelly Manne: Lean on Me from 2-3-4
John Coltrane: Olé from Olé
Bill Carrothers: Keep Your Sunny Side Up from Keep Your Sunny Side Up
Marian McPartland: Threnody (A Lament) from Marian McPartland Plays the Music of Mary Lou Williams
Vienna Art Orchestra: Jean Harlow Meets Leonardo da Vinci from Triology
Archie Shepp: Mama Too Tight from Mama Too Tight
Kerry Politzer: Waiting from Watercolor
Willem Breuker: Potsdamer Stomp from The Parrot
Martial Solal: Zag Zig from NY-1: Live at the Village Vanguard
Don Grolnick (with Michael Brecker): Pools from Hearts and Numbers
Paolo Fresu: Angel from Angel


This blog entry posted by Ted Gioia

January 15, 2008 · 0 comments

Tags:


Previous Page | Next Page